Originally restricted to amateurs, within three years the first under-the-table professional teams were already competing for it.

After 1904, with efforts to keep the professionals out of competition proving to be futile, it was made open to all challengers.

The team played two seasons with professional players, in 19–08, in the Eastern Canada Amateur Hockey Association, and after that no longer competed for the Stanley Cup, which was for professional teams.

As he put his mother into the boat he handed her a sterling silver flask of brandy, and she began to complain about his drinking. ” he asked, Au revoir, bon espoir vous-autres.” (Goodbye and keep your spirits up everyone.) Berthe Mayn didn’t want to get into the boat without him, but Molly Brown convinced her to do so.

The team was the first to win the Stanley Cup, in 1893, and subsequently refused the cup over a dispute with the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association. The team played its first game on January 20, 1885 against Mc Gill University, The club would be a founding member of the Montreal-based Amateur Hockey Association of Canada (AHAC) in 1886.

The club is variously known as 'Montreals', 'Montreal AAA' and 'Winged wheel' in literature. The team held the Amateur Hockey Association title from 1888 until 1894.

Donated on March 16, 1901 by the Governor-General of Canada, Sir Gilbert John Murray Kynynmond Elliot, 4th Earl of Minto, the Minto Cup was awarded to the senior amateur lacrosse champions of Canada.

Lord and Lady Minto enjoyed such outdoor recreation and activities as ice skating and bicycling during their stay in Canada – and, apparently, in the summer months, Lord Minto also liked to play lacrosse.

Leave a Reply